John Barclay Burns has been a member of The British Players since 1981.  He has acted in Music Halls, Pantos and plays over the years. He helps regularly with Front of House, always good times, and is an adjudicator for the Ruby Griffith Award.  He has served on the Board a couple of times and, most recently, as a Trustee. With his congenial and knowledgeable fellow-trustees, he has found this responsibility very rewarding, in the best sense of the word, and is happy to be serving a further term. John is retired and is Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies at GMU but continues to teach, regularly – he likes captive audiences and limited possibilities for being upstaged!

Alan Gelb has been a loyal member of The British Players for over 20 years, attending almost every production and certainly, every Music Hall.  He has served as a Trustee for six years. Alan retired as a Director at the World Bank but went on to research international financial issues at the much respected Center for Global Development in Washington.  While he ended his career at the World Bank as Director of Research, he had spent much of it leading the Bank’s work in the financial sector and is a leading expert in financial sector issues in the former socialist countries.  His theatrical pursuits have taken him beyond audience participation as he has led a local play reading group in Bethesda, MD, for many years.  Alan’s combination of a love of British theatre and his financial sector skills make him a perfect fit for our Board of Trustees.

Chuck Hoag has been a member of The British Players since 2001 having performed in that season’s pantomime, Cinderella. In addition to performing in various other Pantomimes and Music Halls, he directed the very successful Pantos Cinderella in 2013 and Frosted in 2018, as well as the 51st Old Time Music Hall in 2015. Most recently was Music Director for the wildly successful 2021-22 pantomime, The Wizard of Oz. In the past, he has served on the Players’ Board of Directors and is presently serving on the Board of Trustees.